Election Reform/HR 811 Hearings, House Committee on Administration

Public documents of the House Committee on Administration reproduced here were originally published at http://www.votetrustusa.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2345&Itemid=1223
prior to general public release via US government websites.

During March, 2007, the Elections Subcommittee of the Committee on House Administration held three public hearings on election reform.

Members of the Elections Subcommittee are:
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Chair;
Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Ranking Member;
Rep. Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-CA);
Rep. Charles Gonzalez (D-CA);
Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA); and
Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-MI).

The submitted written testimony can be downloaded by clicking on the hyperlinked names of each of the witnesses who testified.

Thursday, March 15, 2007, 2:00 p.m. "Machines and Software"

Opening Statement of Subcommittee Chairwoman Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)

Panel One: Accessibility and Machines
Kelly Pearce, Disability Access Voter, Working Group Cook County Illinois
Ted Selker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Eric Clark, Secretary of State, Mississippi
Diane Golden, Consortium of Citizens with Disabilities

Panel Two: Software Disclosure
Matt Zimmerman, Electronic Frontier Foundation
Brit Williams, Kennesaw State University
David Wagner, UC Berkeley, ACCURATE
Hugh Gallagher, Election Systems Acquisition and Management Services

Bruce Behrendorf, Collab.net, Apache Software Foundation

Tuesday, March 20, 2007, 2:00 p.m. "Election Audits"

Panel One
Matt Damschroder, Director Franklin County, Ohio Board of Elections
Ion Sancho, Supervisor of Elections , Leon County, Florida

Panel Two
Candice Hoke, Center for Election Integrity, Cleveland State University
R. Doug Lewis, Executive Director, The Election Center
Lawrence Norden, Brennan Center, New York University
Tammy Patrick, Federal Compliance Officer, Maricopa County Arizona Elections Department
Pamela Smith, President, Verified Voting

Friday March 23 at 9:30 a.m. HR 811 The Voter Confidence and Increased Accessibility Act of 2007

Panel One
Hon. Charlie Crist, Governor of Florida

Panel Two
Hon. Rush Holt (D-NJ)
Hon. Tom Petri (R-WI)

Panel Three

Hon. Debra Bowen, Secretary of State, California
Hon. Chris Nelson, Secretary of State, South Dakota

Panel Four
Tanya Clay House, Director of Public Policy, People for the American Way Foundation
George Gilbert, Director of Elections, Guilford County, North Carolina
Edward Felten, Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University
Don Norris, Professor of Public Policy, University of Maryland - Baltimore

Panel Five
Noel Runyan, Personal Data Systems
Harold Snider, Access for the Handicapped
Warren Stewart, Policy Director, VoteTrustUSA
Gail Mahoney, Jackson County MI, Chair National Association of Counties